Summer Program Benefits Happy Camper and the Participants

The parents of the five students who are interning at Happy Camper through the Boley Center Internship Program thought that keeping them there was a great idea. “They love their jobs. Can they stay there forever?”

Mary Beth and the Happy Camper staff think that is a good idea too.”I can’t begin to express my gratitude to the Boley Center Internship Program. I am blown away by these five young men and women,” said Mary Beth. “Their attendance, work ethic, sweet
personalities, respectfulness, and love for the dogs are top notch. A special thank you to Ebie, our Carillon Manager, who is our liaison with Boley Center and our kids.”

The interns were chosen because they expressed an interest in being veterinarians or generally working with animals. Twana Grooms, Boley program counselor, explained that the program is for people from the ages of 16 to 21. Boley advertises in the area including the Pinellas County schools and on the radio to gather program participants. Happy Camper found out about the program by receiving a fax from Boley.The applicants undergo a background check to rule out felons and a financial check —
applicants from underemployed homes are given priority. Grooms said the intent is to help the interns earn money to go to college.

“Being given this opportunity to select our kids and organize this program has been such a blessing to us at Happy Camper” says Carillon Manager Ebie Davis, “ I have met and now work with some of the coolest, most enthusiastic and respectful young people ever. It’s so special to be able to walk someone through their first job experience, giving them feedback and training. I don’t want the summer to end…and my memories of this experience never will.” The interns began working at Happy Camper in May and will stay there through August.

Marcus Terrell

Hello! I was born in St. Petersburg and I have lived here almost my whole life. I moved to Georgia for 9th and 10th grade, but I moved back to live with my father.

I enjoy being here at Happy Camper because it is fun and the atmosphere is friendly. I am a really outspoken and nice person. I enjoy hanging out almost anywhere. I am with my family a lot, especially my cousins. I like to watch movies, play games, buy
clothes, and travel. This is a really good job to have, especially because I love animals. I love dogs because they have a fun and upbeat energy.

My favorite types of dogs are Bulldogs, Rottweilers and Pit Bulls. I currently have two Pit Bulls, both are puppies; the boy is named Brick and the girl is named Kandy.

Norma

My name is Norma. I’m 17 years old. I’m bilingual, I can speak Spanish and English.
Currently I live with my mom and brother, who are pretty cool if I say so myself. I have one dog; he’s a Chihuahua mix and is very loyal and sweet.

Shay Shay

Shay Shay (Trache) Carter

Hi, I am Terache. My nickname is Shay Shay. I am 16 years old; I have two wonderful dogs, Blue, a Weimeraner, and Beast, a Pit Bull/ Lab. I live with my wonderful parents, my stepdad Joe and my mother Ernice. I have a brother Aj and a Sister Jasmen.
I love working with animals and especially dogs. I would die if puppies could stay little forever. I treat other people’s dogs like my own. I adopt every one I meet in my head … it’s a curse!
I enjoy playing basketball, volleyball and football. Favorite places to eat are McDonalds, Applebees, Red Lobster and Fish Tales. I like hanging out with my friends, playing games, and I really, really, love clowns, especially the scary ones.

RylanRylan

Hi, my name is Rylan. I am 18 years old and from Decatur, Georgia. I moved to St. Petersburg when I was very young. I am interested in graphic design and animation and pursuing those in college. During my last two years of high school I was certified in Adobe Workshop and Illustrator.
When I am not playing with my dogs, I enjoy working on the computer doing art or going outside to skateboard.

Trinity

Trinity

My name is Trinity. I am 18 years old. I am a quiet person, though I love being around people! I am currently in the 11th grade, planning to graduate in December.
My family and I love helping others and if we had the power to help every person in need, WE WOULD! I live with my father and it has been the best. I am from St. Petersburg and know this area like the back of my hand. When I lived with my mom, it was in Oldsmar.
In 2015, things weren’t the best, but then we discovered a place that took people like my family in and helped my mom get a job. Then, God blessed us with a new house! My family loves, loves, loves pets! Cats, dogs and Guinea pigs! Sometimes all three! We foster cats all the time, which is fun! My future goals are to open my own gym. I was a competitive cheerleader for 13 years. Would like to work with kids in health and fitness. Maybe even fashion and designing; maybe even an RN. I have so many goals, but my dream school is FAMU.

Call Now Button